Vernon Fashion Studio’s Blog

The Wonder of Wonder Tape

Posted on: April 25, 2009

I have been pondering what my first real post should be about. After some thought I decided to tell you about a product that I use a lot and can’t live without. Eight or 10 years ago while perusing the Notions section of Jo Ann’s Fabrics, I discovered Wonder Tape by Collins. It is truly a wonder.

Wonder Tape is a basting tape but unlike other basting tapes, you can sew through it without gumming up your needle. And even better than that, it washes out in the first washing. And for a bit of added convenience, it is ¼ inch wide. On the down side, it is more expensive than other basting tapes or emergency fix type tapes.

How do you use it? When rolling a ¼ inch hem stick the tape down along the edge of the fabric. Tear off the roll. Run your fingers along the paper backing to make sure it is stuck down. Press down or pinch hard on one end then using your thumbnails, separate the paper backing from the tape. You can remove all the paper backing at once or a little at a time, depending on the length you are working with. Warning: It is very sticky! But it will release easily also. Mostly you just stick it on to something, remove the backing and stick to something else. Easy and convenient.

What do I use it for? Almost everything. Anytime I need to roll fabric over a ¼ inch I use it. On napkins, I use it to make the first roll. It adds some stiffness and stability so when you make the second roll you don’t need pins. For a flat felled seam you can either put the Wonder Tape on the wrong side of the seam allowance you are rolling so it sticks to the wrong side of the fashion fabric when you roll it over or you can apply it to the wrong side of the fashion fabric and roll the wider seam allowance over on to it.

I use Wonder Tape to hold zippers in place when I install them. I use it to hold buttons in place when I am machine sewing them on. It keeps the button from shifting as you work it under the presser foot. I use it to keep underlining/mounting fabric attached to the fashion fabric during construction. You can use it to hold trim, badges, patches and appliquéd items in place while sewing them on.

Besides the price are there any other downsides to Wonder Tape? Since it is pricy, I try not to waste it. It not only firmly sticks two materials together but it sticks to itself and when that happens, you have to start over with a new piece. I use Wonder Tape in my classes and suggest the students get some. The problem is that my local store keeps running out of it. And sometimes they sell my students the wrong thing. That is frustrating.

I find myself reaching for Wonder Tape all the time when I sew and I am sure you will too. It comes in a blue and white package but I have also used a version in a yellow package put out by Dritz. I don’t know if they are related products but they both work. You will hear a lot about how I use Wonder Tape as time goes on.

Leave a comment