Vernon Fashion Studio’s Blog

A Quilting Bee!

Posted on: September 23, 2010

Today, I joined seven other newcomers to the quilting guild, for a quilting session, to make our official badges.

I am a firm believer that we all need to wear name tags because I have a lousy memory for names. Luckily the guild likes its members to wear badges, so all newcomers make their own version of the official desgn. Blue is the predominate color for all badges. The guild provides the silver lame for the star. I provided those that wanted, with their names embroidered on light blue fabric, in red thread. I also offered them the guild initials in yellow on white fabric for the moon.

It hangs around your neck. I am thinking of adding a buttonhole so I can use a badge clip on it. Most of us modified the pattern to include a pocket on the back of the badge. It is a good place to carry money and ID without dragging a purse around quilt shows and other events. It needs a closure though. Thinking of velcro or a snap.

It was fun to get together and just sew a project. We plan to do it again. I learned a few things and enjoyed chatting with the other newbies. What a great way to spend the morning!

Leave a comment